Truth, Virtue, Beauty

There are four esoteric commonalties: Truth, Virtue, Beauty, and Prayer. Each esoteric commonalty will give an answer that can explain and unlock the Levels of Religious Participation that includes transformation, experience, faith, and belief. Esoteric commonalties are internal standpoints within a religion. When studying esoteric commonalties, all main religions have two things in common; first “all major religions agree that existence is not limited to the material realm” and second “all of the world’s religions agrees that one can come to know the Divine Reality directly, and within man there is an innate capacity for knowing this Divine reality with absolute certainty”, (citation). This essay explores the depths of Truth in Buddhism which is one of the four aforementioned esoteric philosophical commonalties that all major religions share.
Buddhism is a religion based on Siddhartha Gautama, a man who was known as the “Awakened One”, the man that had everything and gave it all up. Many Buddhist customs have had an incredible influence on the “metaphysical imagination, the moral bearing and the aesthetic sensibility of the diverse people” (World’s Wisdom, page no number provided).
The elemental levels of participation in Buddhism for Truth is carried out through doctrine, the mind, and belief. Simply put, Truth is expressed through doctrine. Doctrine correlates to the dimension of the person’s spirituality; the mind. A person can understand Truth through the development of their mind. The mind will correspond to the development of belief, when an individual starts to invest their time in discovering a “true claim” and through the practice of Buddhism, they will be on the path to attain Truth.
To find Truth one must have commitment to introspection and acceptances. Truth is everlasting – “objective and absolute.” Buddha’s essential goal was to reach Nirvana. In World’s Religions, we’re told “that Nirvana is permanent, stable, imperishable, immovable, ageless, deathless, unborn, and unbecome, that it is power, bliss and happiness, the secure refuge… That it is real Truth and the supreme Reality; that it is the Good, the supreme goal and the one and only consummation of our life, the eternal, hidden and incomprehensible” (citation). To find Truth, human beings must find peace inside the mind by walking the spiritual paths. Buddhism teaches that if we don’t have internal peace we cannot attain external peace. The attainment of Nirvana, real Truth and supreme Reality, is to “remove the mind’s last trace of craving and aversion and free it fully” (citation).
Buddha decided to teach others the secrets of an enlightened path using Truth because he felt it was his calling to find happiness not only for himself, but for others as well. Buddha’s key to unlock and attain Truth is the “three marks of existence”: impermanent [anicca], suffering [dukkha], and “without a self” [anatta]. Buddha focused his teachings on “clear mindfulness to the spiritual understanding”, (citation). Buddha explains that the Truth is the Lamp. Once you find or attain Truth, you will then become eternally free. Buddha himself is the quintessential example of “Being Your Own Lamp”, he was enlightened. He had attained Truth and could use it to provide Light in the darkest places of existence. Buddha believed that one must let everything go to give of themselves completely to the practice of the religion prior to attaining Truth.
Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha) said, “I teach about suffering and the way to end it”. The Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path are examples of his core doctrine. The first noble Truth that Buddha teaches is that life is dukkha; That means from birth, we are all able to get sick, we grow old and we can die, this living experience is suffering (dukkha). Only through this suffering experience may we find the Path to Truth. Buddha’s second noble truth is tanha; throughout life we have cravings and desires that stray us from the path of Truth. The third Noble Truth is that through life we may remain hopeful for the attainment of Truth. The last Noble truth Nirodha is cessation or detachment. To practice towards cessation of suffering, one must follow the steps of the Eightfold Paths to attain Noble Truth. The Eightfold paths is the Middle Way. The Middle Way prevents tolerance and devotion from interfering with one another, “it gives vision, it gives knowledge, and it leads to peace, to direct acquaintance to nibbana,” (citation).
In Buddhism, Truth may be attained through meditation. Buddha believed to achieve Truth in our mind, a practicing Buddhist must follow The Four Foundations of Mindfulness (The Satipatthana Sutta). These are the method of meditation:
1. Sustained Awareness of the Body,
2. Sustained Awareness of Sensations,
3. Sustained Awareness of the Mind, and
4. Sustained Awareness of the Mind-Objects.
This practice shows the path to detachment that will lead to liberation. Buddha’s way to purity teaches that one must get over grief and mourning, to end sadness and agony, to go toward the right path, and the “realization of Nirvana”, which is the base of mindfulness. Nirvana is the highest summit of enlightenment and with it comes Peace and Truth.
Truth is also predicated by Belief. Belief is the “Mental acceptance of an idea based on authority,” lecture notes. When a person devotes themselves to a religion, that person will find true affirmation. Buddha devoted forty-five years of his life to teach others of his vision and methods so that he could led to accomplish what he had attained. His dedication to the teaching others to find peace in their lives was remarkable. Buddha lived by example, he once had everything that would satisfy a person’s worldly account of fulfillment but gave all his worldly possessions up to walk the Path to Truth and enlightenment. Buddha’s Belief in his Path to Truth has lived on and inspires others to walk in his footsteps to Peace and Truth for the attainment of Nirvana.
Truth in Buddhism is walking the spiritual paths of an esoteric philosophical elemental level of participation which is carried out through doctrine, the mind, and belief. Buddha teaches introspection and acceptance on the Eightfold Path for the Four Noble Truths. The Four Noble Truths combined form a single Truth that once obtained may be used as a Lamp to guide the Buddhist to eternal freedom, the ultimate secure refuge, and supreme Reality also known as Nirvana. Be your Own Lamp and find your Truth.